MotoGP

Yamaha Secure Lorenzo Future

Yamaha’s factory MotoGP team have confirmed double world champion Jorge Lorenzo will remain in the squad for 2015 and 2016.

The Spaniard, champion in 2010 and 2012, has shown signs of dissatisfaction with the Japanese team as he struggled through the first half of 2014 in the face of the dominant Marc Marquez and a rejuvenated team-mate in Valentino Rossi.

Yet just days before this announcement Wilco Zeelenberg, Yamaha Team Manager, expressed his desire to see Lorenzo remain with the team for the long-term.

“I have been a Yamaha man for 12 or 13 years so my first intention is to keep Jorge with Yamaha. This is our priority to keep Jorge and Jorge is willing to stay for sure.”

The sentiment was compounded on Friday when Lorenzo made public his re-signing for Yamaha.

It has always been my wish to continue my career with Yamaha; I strongly believe we can fight for a third title together. This season has been very challenging after a difficult start, however we will continue to take it race by race, giving 100% until Valencia. I want to thank Yamaha for their continued belief in me and all the Yamaha fans around the world who continue to support me. After the summer break I’m excited to be back at Indy with my team and focused again on riding.”

Leave a Reply

