Palmer Makes Breakthrough As Russell Retains Lead – BRDC F4

George Russell left Snetterton on Sunday evening with the BRDC F4 championship lead still safely in the bag after he failed to win a race for the first time in 2014; the 17 year old scored two 3rd places and a 6th however to ensure he remained ahead of title rivals Arjun Maini and Raoul Hyman.

Son of BRDC F4 creator and former Formula One driver Jonathan Palmer, Will, picked up two victories from the three races over the weekend to fire himself into the title mix, now sitting in 3rd place overall ahead of Maini, and behind Hyman and Russell.

Hyman, a veteran of BRDC F4’s maiden 2013 season, scored two podiums of his own but was penalised for an incident in race two that saw the South African make contact with Denmark’s Nicolas Beer, ending the Dane’s race. With the amended result dropping Hyman to 13th in the results for race two, he lost his chance of closing the gap on the relentless Russell in the points table.

Race two though ensured Lanan Racing, 2013 Champions, didn’t go away empty-handed as Indian Maini secured his own maiden series win, beating Diego Menchaca and Russell to the victory after securing his third pole of the season; which also earns him the lead in the Jack Cavill pole position cup.

With nine rounds gone of the twenty-four scheduled for this season, it is clear to see the battle for the crown should be between HHC Motorsport and Lanan Racing, with both teams getting all their drivers into the top eight. 2014 has proven tougher for 2013 challengers Sean Walkinshaw Racing, whose younger drivers are currently struggling to make an impact on the points table despite some excellent performances.

F4 returns to action at Oulton Park on 18th/19th July.

BRDC F4 Standings after round 9 of 24.

1 Russell GBR Lanan Racing 216
2 Hyman RSA HHC Motorsport 195
3 Palmer GBR HHC Motorsport 185
4 Maini IND Lanan Racing 179
5 Fielding GBR HHC Motorsport 149
6 Menchaca MEX Douglas Motorsport 139
7 Lima BRA Hillspeed 132
8 Moore GBR Lanan Racing 112
9 Middlehurst GBR Mark Godwin Racing 108
10 Raj Mayer MAL Hillspeed 90
11 di Mauro BRA PetroBall 83
12 Fonseca MEX Douglas Motorsport 76
13 Eastwood IRE Douglas Motorsport 69
14 Albert GBR SWR 65
15 Beer DEN SWR 64
16 Wagner GBR Mark Godwin Racing 64
17 Borrelli VEN SWR 50
18 Jackson GBR Chris Dittmann Racing 50
19 Roeper USA PetroBall 41
20 Claessens NED Mark Godwin Racing 24
21 Wauer NOR Enigma Motorsport 20
22 Zabalza MEX Hillspeed 17



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s