F1 2014

Advantage Mercedes – Monaco FP1

Mercedes colossal performance advantage showed no signs of evaporating on the streets of Monte Carlo as Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg set the pace once again, the nineteenth time this season Hamilton has topped the timesheets in an officially timed session.

Daniel Ricciardo was fastest man behind the Mercedes duo, with Fernando Alonso splitting the Red Bull’s in 4th ahead of Sebastian Vettel.

The predicted rain did not strike during the morning, but remains a constant threat toward FP2 this afternoon. Some teams elected to practice some long run planning in case rain disrupts the running later on, though some – including Force India’s Sergio Perez – chose to stay with their original plan despite the threat. All times this morning were set on the soft compound Pirelli tyre, with the super soft expected to debut this afternoon if it remains dry.

There were no major incidents during FP1 despite concerns the drivers would find it difficult to deal with the new torque levels provided by the V6 engines on the narrow streets; Max Chilton span and stalled at Mirabeau corner causing temporary yellow flags, before Adrian Sutil gave the barriers at the same corner a tap resulting in minor damage to the German’s Sauber car that was rapidly winched away. St Devote reaped it’s usual harvest of locked-up drivers, with Kimi Raikkonen the biggest scalp as he span down the slip road before continuing. Esteban Gutierrez soon followed, raising concerns the Sauber’s notoriously unreliable brake-by-wire system will prove their undoing on a track with no margin for error.

FP2 is at 13:00 GMT.

CLASSIFICATION – FP1 – Monaco GP – 22nd May 2014

1 Hamilton Mercedes 1:18:271 32
2 Rosberg Mercedes 1:18:303 32
3 Ricciardo Red Bull 1:18:506 37
4 Alonso Ferrari 1:18:930 32
5 Vettel Red Bull 1:19:043 33
6 Raikkonen Ferrari 1:19:467 32
7 Bottas Williams 1:19:494 32
8 Perez Force India 1:19:666 29
9 Magnussen McLaren 1:19:789 29
10 Hulkenberg Force India 1:19:856 38
11 Button McLaren 1:20:033 35
12 Gutierrez Sauber 1:20:118 33
13 Grosjean Lotus 1:20:207 33
14 Maldonado Lotus 1:20:241 38
15 Vergne Toro Rosso 1:20:260 36
16 Massa Williams 1:20:517 25
17 Sutil Sauber 1:20:736 18
18 Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:20:914 37
19 Bianchi Marussia 1:21:310 27
20 Ericsson Caterham 1:22:063 40
21 Kobayashi Caterham 1:22:492 38
22 Chilton Marussia 1:25:817 7

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s