Russell Forges Ahead – Brands BRDC F4

Young sensation George Russell came away from Brands Hatch on Sunday leading the 2014 BRDC F4 championship by an increased margin following another highly successful weekend of campaigning following his stunning debut at Silverstone earlier this year.

Russell won the third and final race of the weekend after executing a brilliantly oportunistic overtake on rivals Raoul Hyman and Arjun Maini, who were contesting the lead early doors when both ran wide battling allowing Russell the opportunity he needed. He had to fend off a closing laps charge from HHC’s Sennan Fielding who finished just 0.4 shy of the newcomer after running out of laps to catch and pass Russell.

Lanan’s other new signing Maini impressed too, taking two 4th places and a 2nd across the weekend to consolidate his title as ‘best of the rest’ behind the warring Hyman and Russell, between whom the championship looks destined to be fought.

Hyman had acquitted himself well in race one, winning from Maini by just 0.2 to strike back at Russell who had snatched the championship lead at Silverstone from the South African, who was widely tipped as the title favourite pre-season thanks to his experience from the 2013 campaign. However, Hyman was unable to prevent Russell finishing ahead of him in race two which was won by Gustavo Lima, another 2013 veteran recording his first victory in the series and becoming the first driver other than Russell or Hyman to triumph in 2014. He crossed the line just 0.044 ahead of a determined Chris Middlehurst whose skilful shadowing of the Brazilian impressed all.

Russell continues to lead the title race on 155 points, ahead of Hyman (134 points), Maini (120 points) and Fielding and Will Palmer both tied on 99 points.


1 Russell GBR Lanan Racing 155
2 Hyman RSA HHC Motorsport 134
3 Maini IND Lanan Racing 120
4 Fielding GBR HHC Motorsport 99
5 Palmer GBR HHC Motorsport 99
6 Middlehurst GBR Mark Godwin Racing 91
7 Menchaca MEX Douglas Motorsport 89
8 Lima BRA Hillspeed 86
9 Moore GBR Lanan Racing 70
10 Fonseca MEX Douglas Motorsport 61
11 Raj Mayer MAL Hillspeed 57
12 Wagner GBR Mark Godwin Racing 45
13 di Mauro BRA PetroBall 45
14 Eastwood IRE Douglas Motorsport 44
15 Albert GBR SWR 44
16 Beer DEN SWR 43
17 Borrelli VEN SWR 40
18 Jackson GBR Chris Dittmann Racing 27
19 Roeper USA PetroBall 26
20 Wauer NOR Enigma Motorsport 20
21 Zabalza MEX Hillspeed 17
22 Claessens NED Mark Godwin Racing 12


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s