Russell makes BRDC F4 debut in style

Russell BRDC F4 2014

George Russell got his 2014 BRDC F4 title campaign off to a flying start this weekend with back-to-back victories on Sunday that put him in the lead of the championship.

The 16 year-old, driving for reigning Champions Lanan Racing, ran strongly on Saturday before stepping up a gear to dominate races 2 and 3 at the Silverstone circuit in Northamptonshire.

2013 competitor and title favourite Raoul Hyman won the opening race of the season on Sunday while an epic battle for the final podium places was fought out behind him between Sennan Fielding, Diego Menchaca, Russell and Dane Nicolas Beer. Menchaca and Fielding proved experience counted as they edged out their more junior competitors, though Russell in 5th had set a precedent for what was to come on Sunday.

Russell moved through the order with decisiveness and precision in race two to seize the lead, stretching his advantage to a comfortable 4 sec gap at one point before pacing himself to the chequered flag. Arguably driver of the race was Struan Moore, who turned a difficult P22 start into a 3rd place finish. 

Starting 6th in race three, Russell made an excellent start to run 3rd behind Fielding and Beer early on; the pressure from Beer proved too much for Fielding who span out of the lead, leaving Russell to attack his fellow junior racer and take the lead on lap three. Things got even better for Lanan Racing when Russell’s team-mate Arjun Maini, a leading light of the Force India F1 squad’s ‘one-in-a-billion’ campaign to find India’s next racing star, passed the more experienced Menchaca for 2nd. 

Erstwhile championship leader Hyman dropped to 20th after early contact, and could only recover as far as 12th by the time the race ended.

“It’s been a really good job by the team this weekend. We finished first and third in the second race and now first and second, so it’s been a fantastic weekend for us and it wouldn’t have been so good if it wasn’t for their efforts.” said Russell post-race.

“The car has been very consistent all weekend and it’s paid off. Getting the gap after the first couple of laps and being able to maintain it was brilliant.”


1 Russell GBR Lanan Racing 79
2 Menchaca MEX Douglas Motorsport 66
3 Hyman RSA HHC Motorsport 64
4 Maini IND Lanan Racing 52
5 Palmer GBR HHC Motorsport 47
6 Lima BRA Hillspeed 45
7 Beer DEN SWR 43
8 Moore GBR Lanan Racing 39
9 Middlehurst GBR Mark Godwin Racing 35
10 Fielding GBR HHC Motorsport 35
11 Wagner GBR Mark Godwin Racing 29
12 Raj Mayer MAL Hillspeed 29
13 Fonseca MEX Douglas Motorsport 28
14 Albert GBR SWR 24
15 Roeper USA PetroBall 18
16 di Mauro BRA PetroBall 18
17 Eastwood IRE Douglas Motorsport 18
18 Jackson GBR Chris Dittmann Racing 11
19 Borrelli VEN SWR 11
20 Wauer NOR Enigma Motorsport 7
21 Claessens NED Mark Godwin Racing 7
22 Zabalza MEX Hillspeed 5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s