MotoGP

Lorenzo – ‘Season starts here’

motogp live 2014

MoviStar Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo has revealed he is confident of taking the fight to MotoGP championship leader Marc Marquez in Argentina this weekend.

Lorenzo, the 2010 and 2012 World Champion, has had a torrid start to the season after crashing in Qatar and finishing 10th in Austin after a jump-start saw him awarded a ride-through penalty.

“It’s not the beginning of the season I had dreamed of.” admitted Lorenzo.

“But I’m quite confident that we can revert the situation. It’s not easy to swallow what happened at Austin but I always try to get the positive thing even if we are in trouble. I’m just thinking about Argentina and I’m really looking forward to racing as soon as possible there. Staying on track is the best way to forget and I think our championship is going to kick off over there. I think I’m going to be much more stimulated in front of the Argentinian fans and finally we will achieve a normal race.”

Lorenzo’s bitter rival Marquez has racked up back-to-back victories in the first two races despite still recovering from surgery to a broken leg sustained over the winter. Lorenzo, while still on the back foot, is looking forward to tackling the younger man on the turns of the new  Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.

Just a few riders could test in Argentina last year so I guess the inconvenience of learning the circuit is almost the same for everyone.”

“Hopefully we will enjoy that track and we will get a good result before we start racing in Europe. From my side I will arrive with plenty of energy after resting and training hard in Mexico.”

Leave a Reply

