MotoGP

Crutchlow to miss Argentina race – MotoGP

crutchlow argentina

Ducati rider Cal Crutchlow is set to miss this weekend’s Argentinian round of the 2014 MotoGP World Championship after undergoing surgery to heal a fractured hand he sustained in the last race in Austin.

The Briton crashed heavily just a handful of laps from home and was initially suspected to have merely dislocated his finger; however, further exploration has shown it has in fact been fractured and the decision has been taken to insert a metal screw to hold the bone together.

Crutchlow’s place alongside Andrea Dovizioso will be filled by Italian Michele Pirro, who is Ducati’s test rider and rode in place of the injured Ben Spies in 2013.

“On the Tuesday after Austin I had some scans on my hand and we saw that my finger was still dislocated from the crash and also broken so Dr. Chao decided to put a pin in to stabilize it.” said Crutchlow in a statement.

“Unfortunately I’m still feeling too much pain in my right hand, my knuckles are the most painful part and I’m not in condition to race this weekend. I am very sad to let the team down like this because I was really looking forward to racing in Argentina.”

Leave a Reply

