F1 2014

Rosberg – Lap delta ‘was wrong’

Rosberg f1 china

Nico Rosberg has blamed his failed bid for pole position in qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix on a faulty steering wheel that was relaying false data.

The German also said he was uncomfortable with the brakes throughout the qualifying hour, which saw him finish an eventual 4th behind team-mate Lewis Hamilton and the Red Bull pairing of Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel.

“…[the brake issue] resulted in me locking up and going off on my fast lap on the second to last lap.” complained Rosberg.

“Then on my final timed lap, I was half a second quicker going into the last corner – but my time delta on my steering wheel display said that I was two tenths slower.

So I just took a big risk and spun because I mistakenly thought I had nothing to lose anyway.”

The mishap means Rosberg, instead of starting on pole or alongside Hamilton, now faces a tough battle to pass Ricciardo and Vettel is he is to challenge his team-mate and win the race tomorrow. However, he remains optimistic:

 “I was quick on Friday doing the race preparation so I am still confident that there is everything to play for tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

