F1 2014

Ricciardo hit with ‘harsh’ penalty after pitstop blunder

Ricciardo_2867261b

Daniel Ricciardo suffered a second post-race penalty in as many weeks after being hit with a ten place grid penalty in the wake of yesterday’s Malaysian Grand Prix pitstop blunder by his Red Bull team.

The Australian had been running 4th when he made his final pitstop on lap forty, but a mistake by his pit crew saw him sent out the box with a loose front right wheel; the resulting melee cost him twelve positions and he was hit with a ten second stop/go penalty that was duly served and dropped him from contention. He retired from the race soon after.

But only an hour or so after the race had finished he was awarded a ten place grid penalty in addition to be served in Bahrain next weekend. Fans were left outraged, citing the ‘double jeopardy’ rule that states drivers cannot be punished twice for the same rule infringement.

SkyF1 pundit Martin Brundle said he understood rules had to be upheld, but conceded the penalty was an ‘unusual’ and ‘harsh’ punishment.

“They didn’t even send the car back out onto the race track, did they?” said a confused Brundle.

“They spotted their mistake and pulled it back in. So it seems really harsh, but rules is rules.”

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s