F1 2014

Mercedes dominate – Malaysia FP3

Saturday morning proved there is no hope of stopping the Mercedes steamroller for their F1 rivals in Malaysia, with Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton proving faster than their opponents to the tune of a second a lap.

A heavy rain shower hit Sepang late on Friday and scrubbed the track clean, meaning the drivers were heading into FP3 with a green circuit as an added hinderance to their preparations ahead of qualifying. That wasn’t the only problem for championship leaders McLaren, who spent most of the session in the garage after Magnussen suffered a repeat of his engine sensor woes from yesterday that also affected Button. The issue was traced to a software glitch deep in the computer system, but by then it was too late and the duo are heading into qualifying with no preparation completed.

Ferrari again showed as best of the rest with Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso proving competitive – relatively speaking – on both the hard and soft compounds, while Nico Hulkenberg pushed his Force India into the mix with the Red Bull cars. Ricciardo was initially the faster of the two Milton Keynes-produced stablemates, though Vettel looked more comfortable than he did in Melbourne on the softer tyre and was closer to the front when the morning ended. Lotus too had a more successful day, finally moving themselves off the bottom of the timing board and into the fight with Caterham, Marussia and Sauber – who again had problems on another tough day. Romain Grosjean was still unsatisfied with the ungainly E21 though, branding it ‘a disaster’ over the radio before returning to the pits.

Qualifying is at 08:00 GMT.

CLASSIFICATION – FP3 – 2014 Malaysian GP

1 Rosberg Mercedes 1:39:008
2 Hamilton Mercedes +0.232
3 Raikkonen Ferrari +1.148
4 Vettel Red Bull +1.379
5 Hulkenberg Force India +1.515
6 Ricciardo Red Bull +1.678
7 Alonso Ferrari +1.728
8 Massa Williams +1.773
9 Bottas Williams +1.883
10 Perez Force India +2.021
11 Kvyat Toro Rosso +2.174
12 Vergne Toro Rosso +2.433
13 Sutil Sauber +2.544
14 Gutierrez Sauber +3.033
15 Grosjean Lotus +3.741
16 Maldonado Lotus +4.531
17 Chilton Marussia +4.969
18 Bianchi Marussia +5.162
19 Ericsson Caterham +5.449
20 Kobayashi Caterham +7.007
21 Button McLaren +26.547
22 Magnussen McLaren No Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s