F1 2014

Hamilton beats Vettel to pole – Malaysia Qualifying


Lewis Hamilton took pole position in a delayed wet qualifying session ahead of tomorrow’s Malaysian Grand Prix, beating Red Bull’s reigning World Champion Sebastian Vettel to the top spot by 0.055 seconds.

A torrential downpour hit the Sepang circuit around an hour before qualifying was set to start, delaying Q1 by forty five minutes before the drivers could take to a very sodden track. McLaren surprised everyone by opting for wet tyres while the rest of the field went for intermediates; they had chosen badly and were forced to pit for inters, making it through to Q2 by the skin of their teeth. The bizarre choices continued in the final session when Jenson Button was sent out on intermediates with rain continuing to fall – McLaren set it in their belief that the rain would ease but it never did and the Englishman was left floundering in 10th.

While McLaren squandered their chances, Mercedes and Red Bull made hay and Hamilton and Rosberg headed all three sessions between them with Ricciardo and Vettel challenging close behind. When it came to Q3 all the top runners opted to continue circulating with the unpredictable conditions making forecasting difficult, but Red Bull ran things close when they failed to give Sebastian Vettel enough time to complete his final lap, the German crossing the line a split second after the chequered flag had already waved. Fernando Alonso crept ahead of Riccardo for 4th after surviving a clash with the over-optimistic Daniil Kvyat during Q2, while Kimi Raikkonen beat the metronomic Nico Hulkenberg into 7th. Kevin Magnussen slid off the track in Q2 but managed to out-qualify Jean Eric Vergne for 8th place, ahead of the consigned Button.

Williams saw their hopes blown by a similarly risky strategy to McLaren in Q2, sending Valterri Bottas out on inters on a wet track and the Finn couldn’t make it work where compatriot Kimi Raikkonen could; Felipe Massa fared no better and ended the day in 13th.

Q1 was red flagged to a halt after a crash involving Caterham’s Marcus Ericsson, but the Swede thankfully walked away unharmed.

More to follow.


1 Hamilton Mercedes 1:59:431
2 Vettel Red Bull 1:59:486
3 Rosberg Mercedes 2:00:050
4 Alonso Ferrari 2:00:175
5 Ricciardo Red Bull 2:00:541
6 Raikkonen Ferrari 2:01:218
7 Hulkenberg Force India 2:01:712
8 Magnussen McLaren 2:02:213
9 Vergne Toro Rosso 2:03:078
10 Button McLaren 2:04:053
11 Kvyat Toro Rosso 2:02:351
12 Gutierrez Sauber 2:02:369
13 Massa Williams 2:02:460
14 Perez Force India 2:02:511
15 Bottas Williams 2:02:756
16 Grosjean Lotus 2:02:885
17 Maldonado Williams 2:02:074
18 Sutil Sauber 2:02:131
19 Bianchi Marussia 2:02:702
20 Kobayashi Caterham 2:03:595
21 Chilton Marussia 2:04:388
22 Ericsson Caterham 2:04:407

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s