MotoGP

Marc Marquez – ‘I will not be 100% in Qatar’

captain-america-2013

Defending MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez has claimed he will ‘not be 100%’ in Qatar this Sunday for the season-opening race at the Losail circuit.

Marquez, who became only the second rookie to win the premier class title in 2013 onboard a Repsol Honda bike, broke his right leg while riding a quad bike in February and is in a race against time to be ready for Sunday’s GP. He had been fastest of all in the first pre-season test at Sepang beforehand, but missed the second test while undergoing therapy to repair the damaged leg.

“Obviously it was very disappointing for me to miss two tests but the good news is that I’m getting better and the bone is mending.” Marquez said.

“I’ve been exercising more, so I’ll have to see how I am in Qatar – I don’t expect to be 100%, but I will try my hardest.”

“The important thing is to take some valuable points and then get up to 100% by round two in Austin. Arriving in Qatar as World Champion is something new to me – to defend the title – and I know that from the first session the eyes of the world will be on us.”

Leave a Reply

