F1 2014

Rosberg dominates season-opening Australian GP

Aus GP 8

Nico Rosberg and Mercedes dominated the season-opening Australian Grand Prix this morning, finishing over twenty seconds ahead of nearest rival Daniel Ricciardo and Red Bull who struggled to stay with the unstoppable F1W05.

Rosberg seized the lead at the very start, passing pole-sitting team-mate Lewis Hamilton and 2nd placed Ricciardo who both had troubled getaways; in the case of Hamilton the problem became more evident when he fell behind Kevin Magnussen on the third lap before being ordered in to retire the car with a cylinder failure. This left Nico Hulkenberg in 4th, ahead of Fernando Alonso, Jean Eric Vergne, Valtteri Bottas and Daniil Kvyat, with Bottas going great guns as he made progress after his penalty in qualifying for a gearbox change.

Things weren’t so good for Williams second driver, Felipe Massa, as he was eliminated in a first corner accident when Caterham’s Kamui Kobayashi misjudged his breaking and crashed into the back of the Brazilian’s car. There was trouble for Lotus too, with Romain Grosjean starting from the pitlane and being joined by Marussia’s Max Chilton. Jules Bianchi made it three cars starting from the pitlane when he encountered problems on the grid, forcing the field to take a second parade lap.

With the racing underway Bottas made more progress and looked to threaten Alonso for 5th place, but a swipe with the turn ten exit barrier caused a major puncture that literally deflated his hopes of a podium and necessitated a second rise though the field. Jenson Button took advantage of the ensuing safety car to pit and make up two places, passing Kvyat and Raikkonen and moving into 6th place.

Rosberg reasserted his lead at the restart, quickly pulling four seconds clear of Ricciardo who had his hands full watching Magnussen behind; Hulkenberg still ran 4th but was struggling with graining which allowed a queue of cars to form behind him, though none managed to create an overtaking opportunity even with the aid of ERS and DRS. Button prompted the second round of stops on lap thirty five, leapfrogging Alonso and Hulkenberg after changing to the harder compound tyre. The time lost by Hulkenberg resulted in Alonso managing to jump him too and left him at the mercy of the resurgent Bottas later in the race.

Aus GP 9

Out front, Rosberg never looked like losing his lead and crossed the line twenty four seconds clear of Ricciardo, who managed to stave off a late race attack from Magnussen. Button’s 4th place secures McLaren’s lead of the Constructor’s Championship, while Alonso, Bottas, Hulkenberg and Raikkonen completed the top eight. Toro Rosso took cheer from a double points finish with Vergne in 9th and Kvyat 10th, a tonic after a difficult testing period.

There were seven retirements from the race, including World Champion Sebastian Vettel who succumbed to engine failure after five laps. Both Lotuses failed to finish, while Jules Bianchi finished the race eight laps down on winner Rosberg.


1 Rosberg DEU Mercedes 25
2 Ricciardo AUS Red Bull 18
3 Magnussen DEN McLaren 15
4 Button GBR McLaren 12
5 Alonso ESP Ferrari 10
6 Bottas FIN Williams 8
7 Hulkenberg DEU Force India 6
8 Raikkonen FIN Ferrari 4
9 Vergne FRA Toro Rosso 2
10 Kvyat RUS Toro Rosso 1
11 Perez MEX Force India
12 Sutil DEU Sauber
13 Gutierrez MEX Sauber
14 Chilton GBR Marussia
15 Bianchi FRA Marussia
Ret Grosjean FRA Lotus Mechanical
Ret Maldonado VEN Lotus Mechanical
Ret Ericsson SWE Caterham Mechanical
Ret Vettel DEU Red Bull Engine
Ret Hamilton GBR Mercedes Engine
Ret Massa BRA Williams Crash
Ret Kobayashi JAP Caterham Crash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s