F1 2014

Rampant Rosberg – Melbourne FP3

Final Practice for Sunday’s Australian Grand Prix was another whitewash for the the Mercedes AMG team as Nico Rosberg set a terrifyingly fast laptime to finish the session over 1.3 seconds clear of 2nd placed Jenson Button, with Fernando Alonso in 3rd.

Lewis Hamilton wound up 4th after making a mistake on his single flying lap on the soft tyre, but still managed to work through a successful session in the build-up to a qualifying hour Mercedes are expected to walk away with.

Elsewhere though there was continued frustration for Lotus, Romain Grosjean branding the E22 ‘horrible’ after it suffered a misfire early on and saw him miss out on a large chunk of running once again. Likewise there was frustration at Red Bull as Sebastian Vettel ended up 11th, complaining the RB10 ‘doesn’t accelerate’ on a full fuel load simulating race start conditions. Team-mate Daniel Ricciardo managed 5th fastest, some 1.3 ahead of his more experienced stablemate.

Of the rookies, it was again Kevin Magnussen who set the bar highest for McLaren and ended the session 8th, while Daniil Kvyat avoided his Friday antics and was an encouraging 11th for Toro Rosso.

Surprisingly there appeared to be a switch of situation at Williams and Force India, with the Silverstone-based Anglo-Indian team emerging on top today after Williams looked in podium-finishing form on Friday. Valtteri Bottas suffered a gearbox failure that has left him with a five-place grid penalty to serve, hindering his hopes for the race. Crosswind at turn nine caused many drivers issues, but the session didn’t see any mistakes resulting in accidents.

Qualifying is at 06:00 GMT.


1 Rosberg Mercedes 1:29:375
2 Button McLaren 1:30:766
3 Alonso Ferrari 1:30:876
4 Hamilton Mercedes 1:30:919
5 Ricciardo Red Bull 1:30:970
6 Hulkenberg Force India 1:30:978
7 Raikkonen Ferrari 1:31:156
8 Magnussen McLaren 1:31:251
9 Perez Force India 1:31:665
10 Massa Williams 1:31:723
11 Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:31:925
12 Vettel Red Bull 1:32:255
13 Vergne Toro Rosso 1:32:417
14 Bianchi Marussia 1:34:184
15 Sutil Sauber 1:34:188
16 Kobayashi Caterham 1:34:413
17 Chilton Marussia 1:34:717
18 Maldonado Lotus 1:34:754
19 Ericsson Caterham 1:36:159
20 Bottas Williams No Time
21 Gutierrez Sauber No Time
22 Grosjean Lotus No Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s