F1 2014

Drivers choose 2014 numbers

Formula One’s drivers have chosen their ‘lifetime’ numbers ahead of the 2014 F1 season, a move anounced by the FIA late last year.

The rule was introduced to mimick the likes of MotoGP and NASCAR, in which drivers carry a single number for the duration of their career – most notably multiple MotoGP World Champion Valentino Rossi and his legendary ’46’.

World Champion Sebastian Vettel chose number 5 as his lifetime number, but will carry number 1 in 2014 as per the reigning champion’s perogative. Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button chose numbers 44 and 22 respectively, Button selecting the latter as he carried the number on his Brawn GP car when he won the 2009 World Championship. Max Chilton, confirmed at Marussia today, has yet to file a choice.

Previously a driver’s number was based on his team’s finishing position in the last season’s title table.


Number Team Driver
1 Red Bull Sebastian Vettel
3 Red Bull Daniel Ricciardo
6 Mercedes AMG Nico Rosberg
7 Ferrari Kimi Raikkonen
8 Lotus Romain Grosjean
11 Force India Sergio Perez
13 Lotus Pastor Maldonado
14 Ferrari Fernando Alonso
17 Marussia Jules Bianchi
19 Williams Felipe Massa
20 McLaren Kevin Magnussen
21 Sauber Esteban Gutierrez
22 McLaren Jenson Button
25 Toro Rosso Jean Eric Vergne
26 Toro Rosso Daniil Kvyat
27 Force India Nico Hulkenberg
44 Mercedes AMG Lewis Hamilton
77 Williams Valtteri Bottas
99 Sauber Adrian Sutil
TBD Marussia Max Chilton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s