BRDC F4

Graham wins F4 winter championship

Matty Graham became BRDC Formula 4’s inaugural winter series champion last weekend after a highly successful campaign across two back-to-back race weekends at Snetterton and Brand Hatch.

The 17 year old, from County Durham, finished the main series in 4th place and was the hot favourite for the winter laurels heading into the first event at Snetterton on 23rd November. However, Graham first had to gel with new team Douglas Motorsport, with whom he was driving after conducting the main season with Sean Walkinshaw Racing.

The teenager, aiming for a seat in Europe in 2014, won the opening two races on Saturday at Snetterton before adding a 6th and a 4th on the Sunday. 2nd and 4th on the first day of racing at Brands put him within touching distance of the title, but not without stiff opposition from rivals Jake Cook and Sennan Fielding.

In the end Graham’s Sunday efforts, rewarded with another victory and a 6th place, were enough to ensure he was the man that got his hands on the prize.

Cook took two victories at Snetterton to keep his place on the radar, while there were single wins apiece for Fielding, Will Palmer and Kieran Vernon.

“It’s an amazing feeling to win the Winter Championship. We’ve worked hard and Douglas Motorsport have done an excellent job. There was a bit of pressure coming into the series as I was touted as a favourite but I’ve done what I came here to do and I’m very happy with myself. Hopefully we can use this as a springboard to Europe next season!” grinned Graham.

“I’ve learned so much in this championship. Even after my first race at Silverstone in April with Sean Walkinshaw Racing, the first thing I said when I came back into the pits was ‘wow I’ve learned so much’ because it was a big step up from karting. You can do as many testing days as you want but there’s nothing like the real thing and racing with other drivers. In each race I feel like I’ve learned something new. Even now in the Winter Championship, with the tricky weather conditions I’ve learned even more.”

Leave a Reply

