MotoGP

Marquez – World Championship ‘a dream come true’

Marc Marquez, the newly-crowned 2013 MotoGP World Champion, has expressed his joy at becoming victor in only his first season of competition in the class after yesterday’s stunning Valencian Grand Prix.

“You know…it is a dream that has come true!” he said immediately after the 30-lap race.

“Maybe too early because I didn’t expect it in the first season of MotoGP! It feels so good.”

“I cannot explain what I feel, to fight in front of all of our fans with Jorge and Dani – two of the best riders in the history of MotoGP. Now I just want to say thanks to Honda, all of my team, all of the people that helped me, my family…they are always there and I don’t know what else I can say because I feel so good!”

Marquez finished 3rd in the race to wrap up the title by a mere four points from arch-rival Jorge Lorenzo. In doing so, he becomes the first rookie rider to claim the title in his maiden season since Kenny Roberts back in 1978.

The Honda rider has also broken records for youngest ever pole-sitter and race winner.

Leave a Reply

