CHAMPION! – Marquez claims MotoGP world title

Marc Marquez sealed the 2013 MotoGP World Championship today after a stunning Valencian Grand Prix that saw a heated battle for victory between Dani Pedrosa and Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Lorenzo snatched the lead at the start of the race and paced himself in order to back up rival Marquez, who was running 3rd, into the jaws of Alvaro Bautista and Valentino Rossi. This had the disadvantage of placing him at the mercy of Pedrosa, who made attempt after attempt to scythe past the 2012 title winner – only to come unstuck as Lorenzo quickly regained the initiative.

The battle continued unabated until Lorenzo and Pedrosa ran wide and allowed the stalking Marquez into the lead; the Yamaha man was soon back in the lead but the luckless Pedrosa was now running behind Bautista and Rossi. With his hopes of forcing Marquez into a battle in which he would fall victim to a pursuer, Lorenzo began to stretch his lead out and soon demolished the lap record that has stood at the Ricardo Torno circuit since Casey Stoner’s 2008 victory for Ducati. Hoping to lure his 20 year-old opponent into a fight for victory that might force an error, Lorenzo was soon well over two seconds clear of the Honda man.

Marquez was not to be denied and, despite allowing a rejuvenated Pedrosa through late doors for 2nd, crossed the line in 3rd to become the first rookie World Champion since Kenny Roberts in 1978.


1 Lorenzo Yamaha
2 Pedrosa Honda +3.934
3 Marquez Honda +7.357
4 Rossi Yamaha +10.579
5 Bautista Honda +14.965
6 Bradl Honda +24.399
7 Smith Yamaha +29.043
8 Hayden Ducati +39.893
9 Dovizioso Ducati +53.196
10 Pirro Ducati +1.02.983
11 Espargaro ART +1.04.197
12 Barbera FTR +1.06.826
13 Corti FTR Kawasaki +1.11.481
14 Petrucci Ioda Suter +1.13.643
15 Edwards FTR Kawasaki +1.24.249
16 Aoyama FTR +1.33.010
17 Laverty ART +1 Lap
18 Scassa ART +1 Lap
19 Staring FTR Honda +1 Lap
20 Bauer S&B Suter +1 Lap
DNF Iannone Ducati Crash
DNF De Puniet ART Crash
DNF Crutchlow Yamaha Crash
DNF Hernandez Ducati Crash
DNF Pesek Ioda Suter Crash
DNF Cudlin PBM Crash


World Champion Marquez Honda 334 6 Wins
2 Lorenzo Yamaha 330 8 Wins
3 Pedrosa Honda 300 3 Wins
4 Rossi Yamaha 237 1 Win
5 Crutchlow Yamaha 188
6 Bautista Honda 171
7 Bradl Honda 156
8 Dovizioso Ducati 140
9 Hayden Ducati 126
10 Smith Yamaha 116
11 Espargaro ART 93
12 Iannone Ducati 57
13 Pirro Ducati 56
14 Edwards FTR Kawasaki 41
15 De Puniet ART 36
16 Barbera FTR 35
17 Petrucci Ioda Suter 26
18 Hernandez Ducati 21
19 Corti FTR Kawasaki 14
20 Aoyama FTR 13
21 Spies Ducati 9
22 Nakasuga Yamaha 5
23 De Angelis Ducati 5
24 Abraham ART 5
25 Laverty PBM 3
26 Staring FTR Honda 2
27 Del Amor FTR 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s