F1 2013

Alonso takes first blood – Belgium FP1

Fernando Alonso set fastest time for Ferrari during Free Practice 1 for Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix at Spa Francorchamps.

The session began in damp conditions which saw fans and viewers left to watch a handful of brave souls attempt some exploratory laps, but it was not until around 10:30 local time that the track began to dry enough for some serious laptime to be produced.

McLaren struck first with a 1-2 effort from Jenson Button and Sergio Perez, and surprisingly the duo continued to be competitive throughout the dry part of the session as the Red Bull, Mercedes and Ferrari drivers all set times on the dry Pirelli compounds – although inexplicably Romain Grosjean elected to continue running on intermediates that rapidly overheated.

More rainfall curtailed further changes to the order in the last 15 minutes of the morning.

FP2 is at 13:00 UK time.


1 Alonso Ferrari 1:55:198
2 Di Resta Force India +0.026
3 Sutil Force India +0.175
4 Perez McLaren +0.320
5 Rosberg Mercedes +0.416
6 Vettel Red Bull +0.438
7 Gutierrez Sauber +0.756
8 Hulkenberg Sauber +0.912
9 Ricciardo Toro Rosso +1.572
10 Bottas Williams +1.660
11 Massa Ferrari +1.665
12 Maldonado Williams +1.883
13 Vergne Toro Rosso +1.886
14 Button McLaren +2.083
15 Hamilton Mercedes +2.160
16 Kovalainen Caterham +2.623
17 Van Der Garde Caterham +2.689
18 Chilton Marussia +3.402
19 Webber Red Bull +3.731
20 Bianchi Marussia +4.011
21 Raikkonen Lotus +4.243
22 Grosjean Lotus +7.978

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s