F1 2013

Rosberg sets Merc pace

2012 Chinese GP Winner Nico Rosberg set the pace at the first practice session for this year’s Chinese Grand Prix with a scintillating time that left his rivals reeling in his wake.

The German blitzed team-mate Lewis Hamilton by almost half a second with a laptime of 1:36:717, the only driver to dip below the 1:37:00 barrier in the whole hour and a half long session.

Red Bull followed another half second behind, with Mark Webber comfortably staying 0.3 ahead of arch-nemesis and Malaysian Winner Sebastian Vettel. Fernando Alonso was mere hundredths behind the reigning World Champion, while Jenson Button showed yet more improved pace for McLaren with a solid 6th overall.

Felipe Massa, Adrian Sutil, Romain Grosjean and Paul Di Resta rounded out the top ten.

Kimi Raikkonen struggled for Lotus throughout the session, spinning early on and damaging a precious set of tyres as he grappled with oversteer, but it was a very promising session for Toro Rosso’s Jean Eric Vergne and Williams’ Pastor Maldonado who were closer to the front-runners than previous races.

Sergio Perez was mired down in 16th behind the Sauber of Nico Hulkenberg who also made heavy-going of the morning session, and the Mexican further compounded his woes when he beached his MP4/28 in the pitlane gravel trap after the chequered flag had fallen.

Marussia outperformed Caterham once again, with Jules Bianchi besting team-mate Max Chilton for 19th place.

1 Nico ROSBERG Mercedes 1:36:717
2 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes 1:37:171
3 Mark WEBBER Red Bull 1:37:658
4 Sebastian VETTEL Red Bull 1:37:942
5 Fernando ALONSO Ferrari 1:37:965
6 Jenson BUTTON McLaren 1:38:069
7 Felipe MASSA Ferrari 1:38:095
8 Adrian SUTIL Force India 1:38:125
9 Romain GROSJEAN Lotus 1:38:398
10 Paul DI RESTA Force India 1:38:561
11 Kimi RAIKKONEN Lotus 1:38:790
12 Jean Eric VERGNE Toro Rosso 1:39:057
13 Pastor MALDONADO Williams 1:39:158
14 Nico HULKENBERG Sauber 1:39:180
15 Daniel RICCIARDO Toro Rosso 1:39:336
16 Sergio PEREZ McLaren 1:39:360
17 Valtteri BOTTAS Williams 1:39:392
18 Esteban GUTIERREZ Sauber 1:40:032
19 Jules BIANCHI Marussia 1:41:966
20 Max CHILTON Marussia 1:42:056
21 Giedo VAN DER GARDE Caterham 1:42:083
22 Ma Qing HUA Caterham 1:43:545



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s